KUALA LUMPUR, Nov 14 — Marang voters can break their jinx by voting in a new face this Saturday instead of backing PAS president Tan Sri Abdul Hadi Awang for a seventh term, according to Terengganu Barisan Nasional (BN) chairman Datuk Seri Ahmad Said.

Ahmad, a former Terengganu mentri besar, claimed Marang has not developed at all despite having voting in two PAS leaders in previous elections, Malaysiakini reported today.

“Marang is unlucky even though twice [it was governed by] a mentri besar from Marang,” he was quoted as saying.

He was referring to Abdul Hadi and Datuk Seri Ahmad Samsuri Mokhtar, the latter is assemblyman for Ru Rendang, a state seat under the greater Marang parliamentary district.

He pointed out that Abdul Hadi was mentri besar from 1999 to 2004 while Ahmad Samsuri helmed the Terengganu government in Election 2018.

“Haji Hadi [has] five years and now [Ahmad Samsuri] four years more, what are they doing?” he was quoted as asking.

Voters in Terengganu will not be choosing a new state government as the PAS-led administration has opted against holding concurrent state elections this Saturday.

Only Perlis, Perak and Pahang are holding concurrent state and parliamentary elections this year.

Ahmad, who was Terengganu MB from 2008 to 2014, claimed that voters had complained about the lack of affordable housing in Marang.

He said Marang constituents had lost out much under a PAS state government.

“Is there a new building being built in Marang? None. A loss for Marang.

“He’s been a member of Parliament for how many terms, has there been a project brought back for Marang?” the Umno politician was quoted saying further.

He reportedly said to spring a “surprise” in this Saturday’s vote so that Marang voters can then request for developmental projects in their district from the prime minister.

“God willing, promise to win first,” Ahmad, who is running for the Kemaman parliamentary seat in Terengganu this election, was quoted as saying.

Formal campaigning for the 15th general election began on nomination day on November 5. Early voting is tomorrow and polling day is on November 19.