HomeEntertainmentPerak Becomes The 3rd BN-Controlled State Assembly To Dissolve

Perak Becomes The 3rd BN-Controlled State Assembly To Dissolve

Follow us on Instagram, TikTok, and Telegram for the latest stories and breaking news.

Perak has dissolved its state legislative assembly effective 17 October

Perak Menteri Besar (MB) Datuk Seri Saarani Mohamad, who is from UMNO, announced in a press conference at the Batang Padang district and land office in Tapah that the Sultan of Perak, Sultan Nazrin Muizzuddin Shah, has consented to the dissolution of the 14th Perak State Legislative Assembly.

Prior to Perak, two other Barisan Nasional-controlled states, Pahang and Perlis, dissolved their assemblies on Friday, 14 October.

This will allow all three states to hold their state elections simultaneously with the 15th general election (GE15), which must be held by 9 December 2022.

Image via L Manimaran

This comes after Caretaker Prime Minister Datuk Seri Ismail Sabri Yaakob dissolved the parliament on 10 October to make way for GE15

During a televised address, Ismail suggested that the state assemblies be dissolved to allow state and parliamentary elections to be held concurrently, according to Free Malaysia Today.

However, since Sabah, Sarawak, Melaka, and Johor held their state elections recently, they are not required to dissolve their state assemblies anytime soon.

So far, Pakatan Harapan (PH)-controlled states of Penang, Selangor, and Negeri Sembilan; as well as PAS-led Kelantan, Terengganu, and Kedah have not made any announcement about dissolving their assemblies.

Here are some important GE15-related stories on SAYS:

Must Read

Related News